As the time for me to finally get in the studio and make my album draws near I thought it might be nice for you to meet my partner in crime. Dan Goudie will be producing my album from start to finish. We’ll be growing this little seed into a gigantic tree together and I for one can’t bloody wait!

Dan Goudie

Dan Goudie

Here is a little interview that will tell you a bit about Dan and how he is feeling about this project!

Q: Where are you from?
A: Born and raised South London to a Yorkshireman and Irishwoman.

Q: What do you do when you are not making music?
A: When’s that?! Music is a full time job/obsession for me so there’s not much room for other stuff. When I do get time off I love skiing, eating out, spending time with the Mrs…

Q: How long does it normally take you to produce an album?
A: Project lengths vary hugely depending on type of music and of course budget. A month’s worth of sessions is an average from start to finish.

Q: What made you want to work on Sian’s album project?
A: I’ve had the fortune of working with Sian for a while now and as well as her being easy to work with I was really interested in her vision for this album. I’m looking forward to exploring some new territory with her.

Q: What other artists have you worked with?
A: I’ve been producing/writing/mixing/recording for quite a while and I’ve been lucky to work with a really diverse range of artists from U2 to UNKLE, Cover Drive to Clean Bandit, Ed Harcourt to Everything Everything, Ben Howard to Bombay Bicycle Club, Paloma Faith to Paolo Nutini. I like to get involved in all sorts of projects.

Q: What do you think of Sian’s album concept?
A: I think a concept for an album always takes it to the next level as then it becomes a unified piece rather than just a bunch of tracks. The specific concept Sian’s chosen is really beautiful and gives the songs a real identity.

Q: What is it like working with Sian?
A: Lots of fun!

Q: Which artists would you compare Sian to?
A: We’ve talked a lot about direction for this album and it’s going to be a new expression for her so watch this space!

Q: What is your most favourite project you have worked on?
A: Spending a few weeks writing songs in Barbados with Cover Drive was pretty fun!

Q: What else are you currently working on?
A: Juggling lots of projects with artists like Melissa Steel, Matrix & Futurebound and 5 Seconds of Summer to name a few.

Q: What is your favourite song of 2014 and why?
A: Picking favourites is always tough but to narrow it down I’d say something like Bloodsport by Raleigh Ritchie, Got No Brains by Dems, Everything Nice by Popcaan, Uptown Funk by Mark Ronson et al or Tove Lo’s Stay High (Habits remix). They all have such a strong identity and personality with interesting production and real emotion

Q: What is your ‘guilty pleasure’ song of 2014?
A: Rude by Magic! It’s sooo infectious!

You can look forward to hearing more about Dan as the album takes shape over the coming months…